Erebus to use own logo instead of Holden badge at Tasmania

Erebus Motorsport’s logo

Erebus Motorsport will run its own team logo on the front grill of David Reynolds and Anton De Pasquale’s Commodores instead of the Holden lion badge at this weekend’s Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint.

It comes after a shortage of badges from Holden, with the team instead running the Erebus ‘e’ in its place.

Team owner Betty Klimenko says the change, which the squad has indicated may stay in place for the rest of the season, is personally significant to her.

“It is very special to me,” said Klimenko.

“I have an ‘e’ tattooed on my right forearm and it has two meanings, obviously the first being for Erebus, my team in both Supercars and GT’s.

“My team gave me a sense of purpose, brought balance to me, and the awareness of team and family.

“I am travelling around Australia with my husband and meeting some of the nicest people.”

Klimenko revealed the second reason, which is a reference to her mother, who passed away 48-years ago.

“Her name was Eta, so that is the second reason, to honour my mother,” explained Klimenko.

“Having our badge gives me a sense of pride and humbleness, and at the same time I am so proud of my teams, past and present, and what they have achieved.”

General Manager Barry Ryan added: “we are currently struggling to get grill badges from Holden so we took the opportunity to ask Supercars if we could run our own badge.

“Supercars approved this and we made our own Erebus “e” badges with our in-house 3D printing machine.

“It is something Betty has always wanted so we took the opportunity to do it.”

The badges will be showcased in action when the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship continues with opening practice at Symmons Plains getting underway at 11:30 local time on Friday.